I did it again. Forgot to enter a check in the check register, that is. My long-suffering husband peered at me over the top of his reading glasses from the table where he was attempting to balance the checkbook. “What check do you suppose we failed to record?” he asked, tactful soul that he is. “Unless we remember, our account won’t balance again this month.” Sighing, I pulled out my day planner and began to mentally retrace the places I might have been with checkbook in hand.

Balance. It’s important in a checking account, and even more so in life. I looked up balance in the dictionary recently, and was struck by two different denotations of the word.

Balance can stand for steadiness of purpose – rejecting the extremes. I love the balanced guidance that God promises us in Isaiah 30:21: “Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, ‘This is the way; walk in it.’”

But balance has a second meaning as well: equality between the debits and the credits in an account. When the debits in my checking account exceed the credits, it cannot balance. I am overdrawn.

Life is like that as well. I easily become ‘overdrawn’ when my spiritual debits seem to be outstanding – debits such as unconfessed sin, lack of forgiveness, and self-centeredness. Each area is like an outstanding check in my spiritual account.

I love the way God keeps the books, though, because he adds credit to my account just like Mike and I make deposits to our son’s checking account in college. The key to true credit is found in the book of Romans, particularly Romans 4:3: “Abraham believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness.”

The legal term quid pro quo can be translated “something in exchange for something.” God made a covenant with Abraham, and Abraham believed Him. What did he receive in return for his faith: quid pro quo? Righteousness.

God has made a new covenant with us through the blood of Jesus (Rm. 10:9,10). If we confess He is Lord and believe in His name, quid pro quo? Salvation!

When we truly realize, therefore, that everything credited to our account has been placed there by God, it is time to – quite literally – give credit where credit is due.

Isn’t that what thanksgiving is all about?

– copyright 2009 Maggie W. Rowe

Edit this entry.