Tags

, , ,

The national holiday for procrastinators, and I missed it

It’s the first month of the first year of the second decade of the new millennium but resolutions are so, you know, 2010.

I  thought about making my list on New Year’s Day but I never got around to it. Not that I didn’t have plenty of promises to populate that list:

  • Lose that extra 10 (be honest now!) OK, 15 (alright already!) 20 pounds.
  • Read through the Bible this year (All the way through – no fair whining that I don’t understand Leviticus.)
  • Get back to the gym at least 3 times a week (So I’m busy, big deal. Who isn’t?)
  • Do CPR on the household clutter (Consider, Purge, Redistribute). Out with the old!

So why haven’t I started on any of the above except the Bible reading (spiritual, aren’t I?)

Because my biggest resolution is to stop procrastinating, and then I’ll tackle the other stuff.

I’m gonna get to them, really.

Procrastination, says my friend Beth, is insecurity raised to an art form. This was a new insight. Me, insecure? Well, DUH. So why do people like me who are prone to self-doubt procrastinate? Because we don’t want to tackle a job until we think we can do it perfectly (as if perfection were actually achievable.)

And we put things off because getting rid of clutter, for instance, involves being decisive, and we hate decisions (unless they involve chocolate).

Besides which we are sometimes lazy and slothful, and that is one of the Seven Deadly Sins, and making the Seven Deadly Sins List is bad even when you’re trying hard not to break the Big Ten.

So my resolution for 2011 is to STOP PROCRASTINATING, for Pete’s sake (who is Pete, anyway? I intend to look that up.)

Later.