Tags

, , , ,

LIbbyUMbrellaLabor Day weekend marks the unofficial end of summer, which means LOTS of activities are ramping up again.

One of my favorite book bloggers, Katherine Scott Jones, pens a “What I’m Into” post each month that I thoroughly enjoy. Katherine is a fine writer who posts deeply thoughtful book reviews, but I also look forward to peeping into her personal world each month.

So with props to Katherine for the idea (which she tells me she first saw elsewhere as well), here’s what I’m into this month.

New Books

Every once in a while a novelist comes along whose books you grab from the shelves simply because they have his or her name on the cover.

For the last three years, novels by Lisa Wingate have topped my personal reading list. The Prayer Box transported me to the Outer Banks, The Story Keeper took me to Appalachia, and Lisa’s new release The Sea Keeper’s Daughters lets me travel from modern-day Roanoke Island to North Carolina’s Blue Ridge Mountains in the era of Roosevelt’s WPA folklore writers.978-1-4143-8690-4

prayer box final cover978-1-4143-8689-8

As long as Lisa keeps writing, I’ll always have a great novel to pick up at day’s end.

New Ministries

Lots of you have told me what a fantastic opportunity Alpha is for those who want to explore life and the Christian faith in an informal setting. Friends are forming an Alpha group in Wheaton next week, so I’ve volunteered my help on the crew that will prepare and serve dinner to those who drop in.

And September means that our Wheaton College students return to my local church. We love having them back! The 13th kicks off our weekly Sunday Night Sisters mentoring program for college women. This fall we’re discussing Jennifer Dukes Lee’s Love Idol. More than a few of us need to jettison our craving for approval.

978-1-4143-8073-5

Drumroll please… (quite literally)

September also means that I am finally, FINALLY going to take advantage of the gift certificate Mike gave me for my milestone 60th birthday some years ago. My first drum lesson is next week. I can’t wait to start making joyful sounds!

IMG_0773

It’s your turn. What are you into this month?